Dr. Prisco Honored by the Institute for Nursing

Dr. Prisco and nursing staff at awards dinner

Felician University president, Anne M. Prisco, PhD, was named one of this year’s “EPIC Award Winners” by the Institute for Nursing (IFN) – the Foundation of the New Jersey State Nurses Association (NJSNA). The “EPIC” awards honor “Exceptional People Impacting our Communities,” and represent one of IFN’s signature initiatives to promote New Jersey community leaders who make an extraordinary impact on our New Jersey health communities and the profession of nursing.

“I am truly honored to receive this recognition from the Institute for Nursing, and I accept it on behalf of everyone who helps make Felician University’s School of Nursing such an excellent nursing learning establishment,” Dr. Prisco said. “We recently celebrated the school’s 50th anniversary and inducted nine alumni into our Nursing Hall of Fame. Our Doctor of Nursing Practice degree program graduated its first class in 2015. Our new Education Commons Building just opened with a high-tech Nursing Resource and Simulation Center, a Debriefing Room, and a Telehealth Room. And later this year, we’ll be launching the Felician University Institute for Gerontology. This is truly an exciting time for everyone involved in the Felician University nursing community.”

Dr. Prisco was nominated for the award by Dr. Muriel M. Shore, Felician University’s Dean of Nursing, and a longtime member of NJSNA. Dr. Shore credits Dr. Prisco ‘s leadership and vision with not only helping the nursing school to flourish, but helping the University as a whole to grow and impact the community, from health care organizations to businesses, and beyond. Felician University’s School of Nursing boasts over 5,000 alumni, most of whom continue to serve the health care community within the state of New Jersey.

The EPIC honorees represent many diverse fields including health care providers, corporate and business leaders, educators, legislators, public officials, community leaders, media representatives, members of the judiciary, and others. The other honorees from this year are as follows:

  • Stephen Abudato, PhD, Broadcaster, Stand and Deliver, NJ Public Television
  • Bergen County Sheriff’s Department - Bergen County Jail Nursing Team
  • Kathleen Boozang, JD, Dean and Professor, Seton Hall University, School of Law
  • Stephanie Fitzsimmons, RN, APN, Nursing Manager, Saint Peter’s University Hospital
  • Garden State Chapter, National Association of Hispanic Nurses
  • Ali A. Houshmand, PhD, President, Rowan University
  • Sister Rosemary Jefferies, RSM, PhD, Past President, Georgian Court University
  • John Kamakolam, Founder and President, Our Family Circle Foundation Corporation
  • Thomas H. Kean, Former Governor of New Jersey
  • Carol Kivler, MS, CSP, Founder and President, Courageous Recovery
  • Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Beth Levithan, PhD, Chair, Board of Trustees, The Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey
  • Claudia Marchese, JD, Executive Director, Catastrophic Illness in Children Relief Fund Commission
  • Kevin Rendino, Chairman, Partners in Health Foundation
  • Scott Serbin, Director of Marketing, Recruiting and Clinical Education, EmCare
  • Shri Krishna Nidhi (SKN) Foundation
  • Basirah TaHa, DNP, RN, APN, PMHNP-BC, University Behavioral Healthcare Services
  • Monsignor Robert Wister, Professor of Church History, Seton Hall University